Student Unions & Activities : University of Minnesota

Student Unions & Activities logo

President’s Student Leadership and Service Award

The President’s Student Leadership & Service Award (PSLSA) recognizes the accomplishments and contributions of outstanding student leaders at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities. It is presented to approximately one-tenth of one percent of the student body for their exceptional leadership and service to the University of Minnesota and the surrounding community.

Nominations will be accepted January 22–February 16, 2018. Visit the Nomination Information page to review guidelines and submit a nomination.

Facilitated in coordination with the Office of the President, Office for Student Affairs, University of Minnesota Alumni Association and Student Unions & Activities.

Eligibility Criteria

  1. Undergraduate, graduate, or professional student enrolled at the University of Minnesota – Twin Cities for at least one semester between January 1, 2017 and December 31, 2017.
  2. Minimum 2.5 cumulative GPA
  3. Nomination from a University community member (i.e., student, staff, or faculty member) submitted between January 22 and February 16, 2018.
  4. A student addendum submitted on or before Friday, February 22, 2018.

About the Awards Process

The process begins with University faculty, staff, or students nominating students for the PSLSA. After a student is nominated, the student receives a notification to submit an addendum to the nomination. The PSLSA Selection Committee (comprised of University students, staff, and faculty) reviews all nominations and addenda in early March; this committee awards the PSLSA. PSLSA recipients are notified in mid-March, and they may be advanced for consideration for one of the awards below: 

Donald R. Zander Alumni Award for Outstanding Student Leadership
Four undergraduate students each selected to receive a $2,000 scholarship

James A. Johnson Scholarship Award
Two undergraduate students in their junior or senior year each selected to receive a $1,940 scholarship

Mary A. McEvoy Public Engagement and Leadership Award
One graduate student and one professional student each selected to receive a $1,000 scholarship

Please direct questions to the Student Activities Office at 126 Coffman Memorial Union, (612) 626-6919 or