2016 Recipients

Donald R. Zander Alumni Award for Outstanding Student Leadership

Anish Chandak is an Honors student majoring in Finance, with a minor in Economics. His previous internship experiences have included financial consulting/services with Deloitte, Allianz Life Insurance, and Travelers Insurance, and business development with BestPrep and BookBottles (Minneapolis-based tech startup). In March 2014, Anish co-founded Jazba Entertainment - a student-run nonprofit that uses Bollywood-Fusion dance as a platform to raise funds for South Asian women suffering from HIV/AIDS, mental illness, and sexual assault in Nagpur, India. He has also served as Vice President of the University Honors Student Association. This summer, Anish will intern with consulting firm Oliver Wyman in Chicago.

Sarah Flinspach graduated in May 2016 with a degree in Political Science and minors in Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies and Arabic. Raised in small-town Iowa, Sarah came to the U of M to prepare for a career in human rights advocacy. She is particularly concerned about the rights of women and girls internationally and the high rates of gender-based violence both in the United States and abroad. While at the U of M, Sarah was active in the marching band and with the Aurora Center. Upon graduating, Sarah plans to pursue a law degree in the near future.

Ziibiins Alexandra Johnson is Ojibwe from the Red Lake Nation in northern Minnesota. She will graduate summa cum laude in Spring 2016 with a Bachelor of Arts in American Indian Studies with an Ojibwe Language focus and a minor in Linguistics. After graduation, Alexandra will be moving to Duluth to teach at the Ojibwe immersion program Ojibwemotaadidaa Omaa Gidakiiminaang. Her future plans include traveling to Hawai’i and New Zealand to study their language revitalization movements, as well as graduate work in education and linguistics. Alexandra is passionate about learning Ojibwe, spending time outdoors and loves being barefoot.

Sibi Murugesan studies Business & Marketing Education and Applied Economics here at the U. Sibi helps build businesses as the Chief Project Manager for Co-Lab, a nationally recognized business incubator and has helped launch several businesses including Sssdude-Nutz, the donut shop in Dinkytown. He also started a pro-bono non-profit consulting group which helped non-profits solve problems such as ROI calculations. Sibi works to ensure that the U of M supports innovative business ideas and will continue this trend as he pursues a career in corporate strategy.

Mary A. McEvoy Award for Public Service and Leadership

Joe Braman is the co-founder of Braman Brothers Real Estate, LLP (BramanBrothers.com), a real estate sales and development company working to create greater access to safe, affordable, and ethically managed housing in the Twin Cities. Joe strives to build connections between the clients he serves in his real estate business, the communities he advocates for in fair housing, and the LGBTQ community. He currently serves as the Vice-Chair of OutFront Minnesota, Minnesota’s largest LGBTQ advocacy organization, and while at Carlson he worked to create a permanent place for LGBTQ leadership and awareness within the school.

Kyle Zrenchik is a doctoral candidate in the Couples and Family Therapy program in the Department of Family Social Science, and is graduating in Spring 2016. He works as a couples and sex therapist in St. Louis Park, and is particularly interested in sexual and gender minority couples. His research focuses on utilizing community to improve marriages and committed relationships in the LGBT community. Kyle lives with his partner, Chad, and pets in Minnetonka and considers attending the U of M to be one of the best choices he has made.

2016 President's Student Leadership and Service Award Recipients

Meron Ayele: College of Liberal Arts

Jackson Baril: College of Science and Engineering

Tess Baril: Medical School

Annette Betting-Fuentes: Carlson School of Management

Prashasti Bhatnagar: College of Liberal Arts

Joe Braman: Carlson School of Management

Keaton Bronston: Carlson School of Management

Anna Burneske: College of Science and Engineering

Anish Chandak: Carlson School of Management

Anna Charles: Carlson School of Management

Manju Connolly: College of Liberal Arts

Amanda Dahl: College of Science and Engineering

Alana Dopp: College of Liberal Arts

Amy Feng: Medical School

Sarah Flinspach: College of Liberal Arts

Nandini Ganesh: College of Biological Sciences

Drew Glasnovich: Law School

Alexandra Johnson: College of Liberal Arts

Rachel Johnson: College of Veterinary Medicine

Matthew Kitagawa: College of Liberal Arts

Rada Kolarova: Carlson School of Management

Kyle Kroll: Law School

Kyle Lau: College of Biological Sciences

Katarina Lee: Law School

Maria Lee: College of Liberal Arts

Chelsea Lemke: Law School

Rahsaan Mahadeo: College of Liberal Arts

Alyssa McKenna: College of Science and Engineering

David Melendez: College of Liberal Arts

Sibi Murugesan: College of Education and Human Development

Carrie Neerland: School of Nursing

Love Odetola: School of Public Health

Denise Quintanilla: College of Biological Sciences

Allison Rochford: Law School

Marc Shinn-Krantz: Law School

Julie Sinn: College of Liberal Arts

Mica Standing Soldier: College of Liberal Arts

Andrew Swisher: College of Liberal Arts

Luis Torrealba: College of Science of Engineering

John Warren: College of Liberal Arts

Colin Wendt: Medical School

Raven Ziegler: College of Liberal Arts

Kyle Zrenchik: College of Education and Human Development